This buff brick house in the Queen Anne Revival style was constructed for Henry R. Corson, editor of the Markham Economist newspaper. Corson became the editor of the Markham Economist in 1867, taking over from his brother-in-law, Senator David Reesor. Reesor had founded the liberal-leaning newspaper in 1856. In 1874, Henry and Nancy Corson purchased Lot 4, Block M, Plan 18 from Peter Reesor. In 1887, the Corson family either replaced or added to and remodeled an existing house on the property. Local historical accounts attribute this residence to Robert J. Corson, Henry and Nancy (Reesor) Corson’s son, but census records show that this was the home of Henry Corson into the late 19th and early 20th centuries. In the 1891 census, Robert J. Corson and his wife, Mary also lived here. After the death of Henry Corson in 1909, Robert J. Corson took over as editor and publisher. In 1915, with the purchase of the rival conservative newspaper, The Markham Sun, the name was changed to the Economist and Sun, and so it remains today. Robert J. Corson continued as editor and publisher until his death in 1930. Mary Corson’s executors sold the property in 1942. In 1964, Paul W. Mingay, a well-known lawyer in Markham Village, purchased the property. The Mingay family continued as owners until the 2010s. |